Finally, Jarigbe Sworn In As Senator After 9 Months Of Litigation

Finally, Jarigbe Sworn In As Senator After 9 Months Of Litigation

…Ogoja, oldest provincial, produces first Senator after 50-yrs 

By Cyril Ogar, Abuja 

President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Lawan on Wednesday sworn Agom Jarigbe as a replacement for Stephen Odey.

Jarigbe of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has been having legal battle with Odey on who is the true candidate of the party for Cross River North.

Jarigbe took an oath as a Senator following his victory at the Supreme Court. 

Recall that the by- election for Cross River North was conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC following the death of Senator Rose Oko.

Speaking, Lawan who asked that he should be given his appropriate seat, said that he hoped Jarigbe will not be too long before.

Ogoja local government area of Cross River and one of the oldest provincial headquarters in the country has finally produced a Senator after 50 years.

Meanwhile, Ogoja was the Provincial headquarters of Old Ogoja Province overing up to Abakaliki. But in 1969 Abakaliki Province was carved out of Ogoja and in 1996 Ebonyi state was created covering old Abakaliki covering up to Afikpo Division, leaving Ogoja as one of the remaining provinces without a state and even a former Senator.

Investigations show that of all the five local government areas that make up old Ogoja Province, only Ogoja has not produced a Senator as Yala, Obudu Bekwarra and Obanliku have all tasted the Upper legistive chamber.

Consequent upon this, Ogoja people have for decades cried out over alleged marginalisation in elective and political appointments as well as in the distribution of projects even when they have supported zoning all these years.

But in a historic judgment Court of Appeal panel sitting in Calabar declared  Rt Hon Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe, an Ogoja son, winner of the December 5, 2019 Cross River North Senatorial bye-election.

The three man Appeal Tribunal headed by Hon. Justice Chioma Iheme-Nwosu and in Suit No CAL/C/NAEA/SEN/167/2021 dismissed an earlier ruling by the Tribunal which declared Senator Odey winner.

Tags assigned to this article:
Agom JarigbeStephen Odey