FG Presents Provisional Licences To 12 New Private Universities

FG Presents Provisional Licences To 12 New Private Universities

By Chika Mefor-Nwachukwu

The Federal government has presented provisional licences to 12 new private universities approved by the Federal Executive Council at its 12th meeting of April 6, 2022, increasing the number of private universities in to 111.

Speaking during the presentation at the NUC Headquarters in Abuja on Thursday, the minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu spoke of the need for establishment of more universities in the country, as Nigeria with the population of 200 million has only 111 private universities and 215 universities in total.

He expressed delight over the partnership between Government and the Private Sector adding that as long as the access gap to university education and its attendant enrollment of students in excess of the standard carrying capacity of the university system persists, government will continue to welcome proposals for the establishment of private universities by credible groups and organisations.

The minister however said that approval for the establishment of private universities will only be granted to those promoters who fulfill the prescribed criteria lay down by the NUC adding that  appropriate care will also be taken to make sure that the proprietors follow through with their commitment to abide by the laid down standards and requirements.

“NUC on its part will, through the instrumentality of appropriate monitoring mechanisms, ensure that quality is assured and that minimum standards are not compromised,” he said.

He reiterated government’s commitment to the strengthening of NUC’s quality assurance operations to ensure that, while improve access to university education is guaranteed,  quality and relevance to national needs are not compromised.

Also speaking during his welcome address, the Executive Secretary of National University Commission(NUC), Prof Abubakar Adamu, stated that the Benchmark Minimum Academic Standards, BMAS, for Nigerian universities has been revised to Core Curriculum Minimum Academic Standards, CCMAS, which will soon be unveiled to the public.

He added that the  CCMAS will provide 70 per cent of what should be taught along with the expected outcomes, while the universities will provide 30 per cent based on their individual contextual peculiarities and characteristics.

Rasheed noted that the radical re-engineering of curricula in Nigerian universities carried by NUC is to meet global standards and international best practices towards preparing Nigerian graduates for relevance in the Fourth Industrial Revolution, 4IR, world economy with the skills needed for the future.

He noted that despite having over 200 universities in the country, and a little over 3 million enrolments, they are still grossly inadequate due to the high  demand for university education in the country.

The NUC boss charged proprietors of the new universities to ensure that quality is not compromised at the expense of maximisation of profit, adding that NUC will not hesitate to sanction institutions that violate its operational guidelines.

The 12  newly -licensed universities include: Pen Resource University, Gombe, Gombe State; Al-Ansar University Maiduguri, Borno State; Proposed Margaret Lawrence University, Galilee, Delta State, and  Khalifa Isiyaku Rabiu University, Kano, Kano State.

Others are Sports University, Idumuje, Ugboko, Delta State; Baba Ahmed University, Kano, Kano State; Saisa University of Medical Sciences and Technology, Sokoto, Sokoto State; Nigerian British University, Asa, Abia State; Peter University, Achina/Onneh, Anambra State. 10. Proposed Newgate University, Minna, Niger State; European University of Nigeria, Duboyi, Abuja, FCT and Northwest University, Sokoto, Sokoto State.

Tags assigned to this article:
Adamu AdamuProvisional Licences