Federal Poly Nasarawa Holds 10th Convocation; To Honour Gov Sule, Finance Minister, 4 Others

Federal Poly Nasarawa Holds 10th Convocation; To Honour Gov Sule, Finance Minister, 4 Others

By David Christopher, Lafia

The authorities of the Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa in Nasarawa state have concluded plans towards the conduct of its 10th combined ceremony of the institution. 

Addressing a press briefing for the combined 10th convocation ceremony the Rector of the institution ESV. Dr. Abdullahi Alhassan Ahmed, explained that the convocation ceremony being hosted by the institution since its establishment in 1983, and the 2nd being hosted under the present administration of the Polytechnic.

He disclosed that the Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa had eight successive Governing Councils with the current Governining Council, chaired by Emeritus Professor Godwin Sogolo, being the 9th Governing Council in the history of the Polytechnic.

He added that in the same vein as the current head of the Institution, he is  the 7th substantive Rector and it is worthy of note that he is a proud graduate  of the polytechnic.

Ahmed then expressed the delight that as it is today the Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa is among the top ranking  polytechnics in Nigeria because of the availability of astute and intellectual human resources as well as the quality of its graduates and other research breakthroughs recorded by the Polytechnic over the years, mostly in the fields of Agriculture, Technical and Vocational educations.

“Our focus since establishment has been towards achieving the Polytechnic’s objective and also tailored towards our mission of “Molding students to become disciplined, skilled and innovative for self-actualization and national development” he explained.

He stated that as part of the ceremony the pre-convocation lecture at the Muhammadu Buhari Multipurpose Hall is tagged “Equipping Nigerian Youths in skills acquisition for the 4th Industrial Revolution”,  to be delivered by a thoroughbred academician, Prof. Idris Muhammad Bugaje, the Executive Secretary, National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), who was also a  former Rector of the Polytechnic.

Speaking during a question and answer session about the achievements recorded by the institution so far, the Rector stated that he always made the best use of all the available human and material resources towards the achievement of his goals.

He attributed paucity of funds as the major challenge they are facing and stated that such has not taken them backward as they have adopted prudence in the management of the scarce resources at their disposal.

Ahmed also stated that the institution has recorded a significant landmark achievements in the invention and exhibition of  its creative materials adding that the quality of its graduands is quite encouraging.

Meanwhile the Rector disclosed that during the convocation ceremony, six distinguished Nigerians who have excelled in their various fields of endeavour will be conferred with the Followship of the Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa (FFPN), which included the Governor of Nasarawa State Engineer Abdullahi A. Sule, Hajiya Zainab Ahmed, Minister of Finance, Budget and National planning  as well as  Hon Aminu Sulaiman Goro, the Chairman, House Committee on Tertiary Education and Services.

Others include Alhaji Ibrahim Usman Jibrin, the Emir of Nasarawa and former Minister of Environment, Federal Republic of Nigeria;  H.E Alhaji Halilu Bala Usman, the Osu  Ajiri and former Deputy Governor of Plateau State; as well as the Late Alhaji Jibrin Mairiga, the 9th Emir of Nasarawa (Posthumous Award).