Buhari Approves Appointment, Reappointment Of Members NDIC Governing Board

Buhari Approves Appointment, Reappointment Of Members NDIC Governing Board

By Mariam Sanni

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the Board of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) and the appointment of some new members and reappointment of some existing members to the Board.

The appointment of the existing members of the Board whose four-year became effective on 9th December, 2018 expired on 9th December, 2022.
It is noteworthy that irrespective of the tenure of the appointment, NDIC operates a semester system for its Board.

Therefore, the Board stands dissolved at the end of the tenure of first appointment.

The board has five other members whose membership is by virtue of institutional or Office representation in line with the provision of Section 5 (2 c and d) of the NDIC, Act, 2006.

It becomes imperative to reconstitute the governing board the NDIC to avoid vacuum, ensure smooth operations of the corporation and ultimately boost the confidence of stakeholders and clients within the financial and banking sectors of the nation’s economy.

In the light of this, the new Governing Board is reconstituted through the appointment of five new members including the Chairman to form a new Board of Directors to oversee the affairs of the corporation for the next four years.

The appointment of some new members into the Board is aimed at injecting fresh ideas necessary to reposition the corporation for enhanced performance.

The following eminently qualified Nigerians, with requisite knowledge and experience are, therefore, approved to serve as members of the reconstituted Board of the NDIC for the four years:
Hon. Dr. Abdulhakeem Mobolaji Abdullateef, (Chairman) from South West Zone, (new appointment); Prof. Osita Ogbu, (member) from South East Zone, (new appointment); Umar Gambo Jibrin, (member) from North Central Zone, (new appointmen); Mohammed Attahiru Haruna (member) from North East Zone, (new appointment); Yasmin Zabath Dalhatu (Member, from North West zone, (new appointment); Simon Ogie, (member), from South South Zone, (new appointment); Abimbola Olashore (member), South West Zone, (new appointment); Muhammed Ali, Director Home Finance (member), Institutional (Rep of Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning); Haruna B. Mustapha, Director Banking Supervision Department, (member), Institutional (Rep of Central Bank of Nigeria); Bello Hassan, Managing Director (member), by virtue of office; Mustapha M. Ibrahim, Executive Director Operations (member), by virtue of office; and Ms. Emily Osuji, Executive Director Corporate Services (member), by virtue of office.

Abdulhakeem Mobolaji Abdullateef is the Principal Partner, Abdulhakeem Abdullateef & Co. (Legal Practitioners).

He previously served as Member, Lagos State House of Assembly Oshodi/Isolo Constituency II, before his appointment as Special Adviser to the Lagos State Governor on Political and Legislative Powers, then later as Honourable Commissioner for Home Affairs, Lagos State government.

Tags assigned to this article:
muhammadu buharindicUmar Gambo Jibrin