Appointment Of 21-LG Transition Chairmen Ends Anxiety In Adamawa PDP

Appointment Of 21-LG Transition Chairmen Ends Anxiety In Adamawa PDP
ndic advert

Dolphin Max Stanley, Yola

Appointment of the twenty-one Local Government Transition Chairmen and their Deputies barely two months since the expiration of past local governments’ leadership by the Fintiri administration has finally put to rest the growing anxiety and disenchantment among PDP Ranks in the State due to what they described as unjustified delay in the appointment of the new transition committees.

AljazirahNigeria learnt that though the local government stakeholders have concluded their selection task and submitted their lists to the appropriate authorities, some of them cannot comprehend the circumstances holding back the announcement of the new members of the local government Transition Committees until now.

Their misery and frustrations were further compounded by the recent press statement issued by the Adamawa State Independent Electoral Commission , ADSIEC, notifying the various political parties of the 90 days election timeline for the conduct of Local Government Council elections in the state.

Some party loyalists who spoke to AljazirahNigeria on the condition of anonymity said that they were initially worried that the State Independent Electoral Commission ,SIEC, had issued 90 Days Election notice while the government was yet to appoint local government Transition Committees.

Also Read:  Sowore’s Presidential Campaign Fundraiser Nets $97,226 Of $2m Goal

In a release signed by the SIEC Chairman, Alhaji Isa Shettima, and made available to newsmen recently, the election notice commences on January 10 and elapses on April 9, 2022 as required by LG Administration Law.

The commission had earlier proposed December 4, 2021 for the conduct of LG elections  after the expiration of the tenure of the immediate past chairmen on December 8, 2021 in line with the legal provision of 2 years tenure.

The commission attributed the disruptions in the political arrangements to disturbing circumstances before and during the period largely precipitated by the destruction of reusable election materials by EndSARS demonstrators, conversion of voting points into polling units and registration of new voters by INEC among others.

Also Read:  Why APC stalwarts 'invaded' Gov Ayade's home town

The statement argued that these happenings had swelled up the initial Budget proposals for the election far above the 2021 budget.

The SIEC Boss explained that the State Government has made adequate provisions for the electoral body to proceed and conduct elections hence, the issuance of the 90 days election notice to all Registered Political Parties ,RPP, in the state and assured that the details of the election will be made available shortly.

However, in a press statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Humashi Wonisikou and made available to AljazirahNigeria yesterday, says the governor has approved the appointment of twenty-one Local Government Transition Chairmen and their Deputies to man the affairs of the Local Governments in the state pending the election of a constitutional leadership.

According to the statement, the swearing in of the LG Chairmen has been slated for today.

Those to be sworn in today include, Hon Abdullahi Doda as Chairman, Madagali Local Government, Danbiyu Paul Tumba, Chairman, Michika Local Government,

Also Read:  APC, Security Agencies Responsible For Burnt INEC Materials, CUPP Alleges

Mohammed Mams Garga, Mubi North, Hon Adamu J. Dirbishi, Mubi South, Hon Abubakar Mustapha, Maiha, Hon Adamu Yerima Sa’ad, Hong, Abdulrahman Dauda, Gombi, Mr Adamu Alge Agoja, Song, Pentiwa Emmanuel Agoso, Girei,  Nasiru Hamajoda, Yola North, Prof. Abba Tahir, Yola South and Hon Usman Hamatukur to head Fufore Local Government.

Others are, Hon Wenakam Wesley Fwa, for Demsa, Hon Pwagwadi Omeno, Numan, Hon Talatu Yohanna, Lamurde, Solomon Abafaras, Guyuk, Hon Tala Ishaku, Shelleng, Hon Mohammed Buji, Mayo-Belwa, Hon Adamu Mohammed Jada, Jada, Hon Jibril Ali Ganjere, Ganye, and Engr Suleiman Ahmed Gangkuba, for Toungo Local Government.


Tags assigned to this article: