2021 Ballon d’Or: Salah, Jorginho, De Bruyne, 27 Others In Battle

2021 Ballon d’Or: Salah, Jorginho, De Bruyne, 27 Others In Battle
ndic advert

Joel Ajayi with Agency Report

As the world awaits November 29th 2021 to  know the winner of the 2021 Ballon d’Or, France Football have released the 30 nominees for the award which didn’t take place last year because of the COVID-19 pandemic.


The French Federation said with no clear favourite, we have one of the most open Ballon d’Or races in decades.

From Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, to Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho, there are reasons for each nominee to be given the trophy.

Also Read:  Barcelona passed up deal to sign Manchester United's Paul Pogba

Messi is the slight favourite after his phenomenal campaign with Barcelona, while Jorginho won the Champions League with Chelsea and Euro 2020 with Italy.

Meanwhile, Lewandowski broke Gerd Muller’s goalscoring record within a single Bundesliga season.

Gianluigi Donnarumma is the only goalkeeper to be nominated, with Manchester City and Chelsea having most players in the running for the crown at five each.

The nominees for the 2021 Ballon d’Or

Also Read:  'Hurt' Wenger says Chelsea drubbing was difficult to watch

GOALKEEPERS:  Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG).

DEFENDERS: Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus) Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus); Simon Kjær (AC Milan); Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea); Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

MIDFIELDERS: N’Golo Kante (Chelsea);

Mason Mount (Chelsea); Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan); Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United); Pedri (Barcelona); Luka Modric (Real Madrid); Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City); Jorginho (Chelsea); Phil Foden (Manchester City).

FORWARDS: Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City) Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund); Harry Kane (Tottenham); Karim Benzema (Real Madrid); Raheem Sterling (Manchester City); Lionel Messi (PSG); Neymar (PSG); Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)

Also Read:  Chelsea: David Luiz set to return to Stamford Bridge from PSG

Others include: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich); Mohamed Salah (Liverpool); Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

;Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) and Kylian Mbappe (PSG).