16 Teams Set For Mark D Ball Championship in Abuja

16 Teams Set For Mark D Ball Championship in Abuja
ndic advert

By Joel Ajayi 

Ahead of the Mark D Ball Basketball Championship billed to commence on January 15, in Abuja, Organiser has announced 16  teams for the basketball tournament, an increment from the 12 teams announced during the unveiling. 


Secretary of the Local Organising Committee LOC, Umaru Abdullahi in a statement issued on Monday, explains that 16 teams were chosen because of the clamour from clubs to participate after being starved of hampionships/tournaments.

According to him, upon consideration of requests from clubs to participate in Mark D Ball Championship, We(LOC) decided to increase the number of participating teams from 12 to 16.

Also Read:  Brazil defeat D’Tigers 86-69

“It is glaring that the appeal from clubs is due to a drought of  basketball games for a long time, and we decided to increase the number to accommodate these request.”Abdullahi stated.

The team includes: Air Warrior, Firstbank, Delta Force, Sunshine Angels, Customs, Novena Queens, Kada Angels, Benue Princess and Plateau Rocks as teams selected for the championship.

Also Read:  Basketball Lovers Lambasts Out On Olumide Oyedeji Over Negative D’Tiger Comment

Others are; Mountain of Fire, FCT Rocks, IGP Queens, Taraba Hurricanes, Nasarawa Amazons, Hot Coal Sizzlers and Bayelsa.

Abdullahi’s statement added that all participating teams must adhere strictly to all Covid 19 protocols.

Mark D Ball Basketball Championship will dunk off at the indoor hall of the MKO Abiola Stadium on January 15, 2022.

Also Read:  Hero Challenge at British Masters: European Tour stars go head-to-head under floodlights

Tags assigned to this article:
basketballMark D ball